Sanjay Gandhi Memorial Trust

The Sanjay Gandhi Memorial Trust (SGMT) was founded by the then Prime Minister of India, Mrs. Indira Gandhi in 1980, in memory of Mr. Sanjay Gandhi. Through the Trust, she intended to bring to the people of rural Uttar Pradesh the best that could be offered in the area of health services, education and employment.

The Trust is held together by the able leadership of its chairperson, Mrs. Sonia Gandhi. The trustees include Shri. Rahul Gandhi and Mr.P K Bansal. The Administrator of the trust is Wg. Cdr. (Retd.) Manoj Muttu.

The Trust manages an outstanding rural medical centre, the Sanjay Gandhi Hospital (SGH) and quality educational institutes such as the Indira Gandhi School and College of Nursing (IGSCON), the Indira Gandhi Institute of Paramedical Sciences (IGIPS), the Indira Gandhi Technical Institute (IGTI).